[Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent   [Hottest Topics] Hottest   [Login] Login
Khrals v Titans - What Units?
Forum Index » Khraleans
peacemonger

peacemonger

I've been reading on here that on most maps, Khrals have the advantage vs. Titans. Granted I'm a noob, but I can't seem to win vs. saps or titans with khrals.

My basic strategy is to make underlings for the first round or two, bury most and then try to counter what the opponent makes. Get underlings to his side for surprise attacks vs. walkers or assimilators (but making sure to destroy assimilators fully). But I can't seem to counter speeders or eclipses...the speeders cover a ton of ground, will waste my underlings...I really need a pincer to beat it, but they are 200 credits more than speeders. Same with the Eclipse...it will destroy my garudas and swarmers and I need a pincer to beat it.

Do I need to bring a wyrm out early? What are the counters to speeders and eclipses?
[Avatar]
waxoid

[Avatar]
waxoid

Pinzers cost more but you don't need many, depending on terrain/base placement a single pinzer may give ample room for ants and swarmers (and infectors and wyrms) to play behind/around it. Both ants (ganging up or popping up) and swarmers can hit speeders pretty hard – swarmers generally do 3 damage (more if speeder is on base or bad terrain) without taking any damage in return, so speeders have to respect that, and swarmers can lurk over terrain that is hard to get to.

Eclipses I like hunting with wyrms, but pinzers certainly work fine too, combining with buried ants again as well wherever you can (prefer popping ants against eclipses than speeders in general, but of course watch assimilation and you should do it where you are sustaining pressure, not just as a potshot). I'm more likely to bring out a wyrm earlier vs. eclipses than vs. speeders, but you generally want some ants and swarmers in place to protect of course.