[Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent   [Hottest Topics] Hottest   [Login] Login
Flying unit height
Forum Index » New Feature Request
[Avatar]
Otdoy

[Avatar]
Otdoy

Hi there! I'm pretty new to Uniwar, and having a great time scrapping away. I like it enough that I paid 12.99! Shame on me for admitting that No but seriously, it's a fabulous game, particularly because it's so well-balanced. Congratulations to the developers.

Anyway, in the past when I've gotten into new games, a creative idea will come to me when I'm first exposed to the game... and then it never happens again So why not write this one out, before I forget? Here's what came up one morning as I was half asleep...

How about two possible heights for flying units? Regular and high altitude.
This would be somewhere along the lines of the Khral bury ability, but have more effects, all of them subtle.

Implementation :
- No need for new sprites, simply de-saturate the color of an air unit at High altitude
- No new units for any race (except possibly a tiny Scout unit for Titans)
- A flying unit can either Move or Change altitude, not both in the same turn
- Flying units spawn at Low (regular) Altitude by default

Generally speaking, going to High Altitude would have the following effects :
- Increase vision range by +1
- Give a small attack and defense penalty (-1/-1?)
- Lower movement cost over deep water, to same as shallow water

Unit-specific effects :

Khralean Borfly - cannot go to High Altitude. (Or maybe it can? and can fire one hex further, but with a severe Offense/Defense penalty?)
Khralean Swarmer - gets no Offense/Defense penalty at High Altitude, but exerts no Zone of Control either.

Titans - they have no flying units - could it be interesting to add a tiny Scout unit?
- Good vision range, highly mobile
- Weak offense / defense
- Cannot occupy Cities
- Exerts no Zone of Control

Sapiens Battery and Titans Walker