[Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent   [Hottest Topics] Hottest   [Login] Login
Board Game Uniwar Update
Forum Index » General Discussion
mistercreepy

mistercreepy

Hi everyone! I wanted to share with you the progress I've made on a Uniwar Board Game. I am not a professional game designer, although I do have some formal training at the graduate level in game design.

Here's a picture of the paper prototype. Super high tech I know!

Pic of the paper prototype:

link here in case that doesn't work:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3w6cA6Wdh8VWjloaTZlOTI0V28/view

For credit chits I repurposed the credit counters from my Android: Netrunner card game. For damage counters, I've tried both the advancement counters from that game as well as poker chips (but both of them are not very elegant solutions).

Fog of war can be preserved if you keep your units facing away from your opponent until they are within range. However I still have no clue on how to make a buried underling, and thus far I'm just allowing the opponent to see where it is buried. Which is not really a big deal, I know.

For damage calculation, I simplified an algorithm I found in the forums. It's not 100% accurate but it's close enough. (It's also not yet adapted to the recent unit adjustments.) You roll one D20 for each hit point your unit has. The target number you are trying to equal or exceed is found by: Target = 9 + attack - defense +- modifiers. So this is a whole lot more random than the Uniwar App. If this bothers you, just use one of the damage calculator apps you can find online. I made a table with all the target numbers already calculated, but it might be easier to have unit stat cards and calculate the target number every time.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1JlTpHRrMZvok2y71NueezTGJApxCzlmLZvR6MfNGvjk/edit?usp=sharing

I've found a company (Gamecrafter) that will make pieces more professionally. The shipment arrives within a week, so I can share that when it arrives.