[Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent   [Hottest Topics] Hottest   [Login] Login
FYI - I'm working on a UniWar-like game for PC
Forum Index » General Discussion
[Avatar]
droidfreak36

[Avatar]
droidfreak36

Hey there! Some of you may remember me from back in 2012 when I was active on this forum. You'll find me on the first page of several stickied posts. So it goes without saying that I'm a big fan of UniWar.

What I'm not so big a fan of is some of the dev's decisions, namely not porting the game to PC and giving the game microtransation units. So as a budding game developer myself, I've begun work on a UniWar-like game designed for PC from the ground up. Theoretically, it would be able to run on Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iOS, UWP, and HTML5.

Don't get me wrong, this will not be a straight UniWar clone. For one thing, I can't use the original assets; that would be copyright infringement. And while theoretically I could get away with making a game that's identical except for the paint job, I'm not. What I am doing is making a game that duplicates a lot of UniWar's mechanics and changes others. It will have a different setting, a different scheme for ranged gangup, and different units, including at least 3 units that have area attacks. This will add another game to the genre which UniWar falls into, which I feel needs expansion.